Emergency: 911
Info-santé: 811
Police: 819 564-1212
Town Hall: 819 876-7117


Municipal Council

Members of council

In Ogden, there are no electoral districts, thus every member of Council represents all Ogden citizens.


Mr.Michael Sudlow
This is Mr. Sudlow`s third time as Mayor of Ogden. He served as Councillor for one term, from 1997 to 2001, before becoming Mayor for two consecutive terms, from 2001 to 2009. Michael is well known to many as the organiser of the popular 5K race which is held each year at Borderfest. A former chemistry professor, he and his wife now enjoy their retirement on the shores of Lake Memphremagog.



Seat no. 1 : Joe Stairs
Mr. Stairs was Mayor from 2009 until March 2013. he was first elected to seat number 4 in the year 2005. Mr.Stairs chaired Ogden's Land Use Advisory Committee since its creation in 1988. Joe and his wife Nancy Layton are well known in the community through their involvement with CAB Rediker, the Haskell library and Weir Memorial Park to name but a few.


Seat no. 2 : Jean R.Roy

Mr. Roy was Ogden`s road inspector for 20 years until he took his retirement in May of 2013. He served as councillor from 1983 to 1990. Jean`s roots in Ogden run deep and he is often referred to as a municipal encyclopedia because of his extensive knowledge of the local area.

Seat no. 3 : Alain Carrier
Alain may be new to the council however he is not new to Ogden. Having moved here from Lennoxville back in 1999, Mr. Carrier got involved in the community by serving as game warden for the Tomifobia Fish and Game Club for many years. He presently works at a local family run company.


 Seat no. 4 : Robert Lebrun

Mr.Lebrun came from Ontario where he spent time in the military before becoming a tour guide then bus driver in Montreal. He later worked for an insurance company as their Regional Manager until he retired after 28 years of service. He and his wife moved to Ogden in 1998 and Mr. Lebrun now drives school buses throughout Ogden.

Seat no. 5 : Richard Roy
Richard was an Ogden councillor from 1990 to 1994. He has spent most of his life in Ogden (over 45 years). Mr Roy worked as a road inspector for the Quebec Department of Transportation for many years.



Seat no. 6 : Sylvie Lefebvre

Sylvie settled in Ogden in the year 2010. She is a retired nurse with extensive management experience. Mrs. Lefebvre is strongly devoted to the environment as well as open communication among other citizens.

Code of ethics

In compliance with provincial regulations, Council adopted a Code of ethics (in French only at present) whose guidelines apply to all Council members of the Municipality of Ogden.

Bad officials are elected by good citizens who do not vote.

- George Jean Nathan

Calendar of regular sittings of Council in 2017

  • Monday, January 9th
  • Monday, February 6th
  • Monday, March 6th
  • Monday, April 3rd
  • Monday, May 1st
  • Monday, June 5th
  • Monday, July 3rd
  • Monday, August 7th
  • Tuesday, September 5th
  • Monday, October 2rd
  • Monday, November 13th
  • Monday, December 4th

All regular sittings of Council are held at 7:00 p.m. at Town Hall, located at 70 Ogden Road in Ogden. 

Two Question Periods are scheduled during each meeting, so that citizens may express themselves. The first Question Period is set at the beginning of the meeting, following the adoption of the agenda and the minutes of previous meetings. The second one takes place at the end of the meeting, shortly before adjournment.


September 5 2017

August 7th 2017


Minutes of Council sittings

(please note that recent English minutes will be available as soon as possible)

Minutes of March 2nd 2015 sitting

Mayor’s Report

The Mayor’s Report is issued once per year and is tabled at the regular sitting of Council held in November. A copy is then mailed to all citizens before the end of the year.